Scroll to top

Live Discussion With Darfuri Refugees

No comments

Live Discussion With Darfuri Refugees

Posted by Enough Team on December 10, 2010

Live Discussion With Darfuri Refugees


After four days of traveling, the i-ACT team finally reached Djabal refugee camp, just before sunset, and had the chance to meet quickly with camp leaders and watch a soccer game. We traveled from Los Angeles, CA and Brooklyn, NY to implement the next phase of the Darfur Dream Team Sister Schools Program—creating personal relationships through technology, between sister schools in the United States and Djabal.

This coming Sunday morning, at 10 a.m. EST and 7 a.m. PST, we are facilitating our very first live webcast from Djabal, called "Why Darfur?: A Refugee Town Hall Meeting." During the webcast you will have the opportunity to connect live with the people of Djabal, many of whom have been living as refugees since fleeing the destruction of their villages seven years ago.

Join us as we speak directly to Darfuris themselves to try and answer the question, Why Darfur? Why should we care right now?

Participate by sending questions through Twitter, Facebook, and the comment box. See and hear the people that are directly affected by conflict in their country, as they discuss their struggles and challenges, hopes and dreams.

See you from Chad!

The i-ACT Team in Chad: Katie-Jay, Gabriel, and James


When: December 12, 2010; 10-11 a.m. EST, 7-8 a.m. PST

Where: Watch live from Djabal refugee camp

The authors are members of i-ACT, an advocacy organization that harnesses the power of video and the internet. They are currently in eastern Chad, visiting Darfuri refugee camps to reconnect with refugees and bring their stories back to the United States on behalf of Enough's Darfur Dream Team Sister Schools Program.